Album Basket Quilt

I was so excited to get my sewing machine back from being serviced but realized I had nothing to sew.  So, since I’ve been looking for just the right project for my dear daughter and her new husband, I thought it would be nice to do something that’s 50/50 piecing and applique.  And after searching through some of my reference books, I found just the right project in “The Quilt Engagement Calendar Treasury” by Cyril I. Nelson & Carter Houck.

Album Basket Quilt

First, I isolated a basket to reproduce.  Easy Peasy.  Because it’s for newlyweds I knew I wanted hearts.

Basket 1

The problem was drafting the basket.  Since there is no pattern for it I turned to trusty Electric Quilt to help me.  It had a couple of cute baskets that were similar but not the same.  And since I especially liked the foot of the basket on the original quilt it meant I would need to draft it myself.  It took some time but I was finally able to get it.

Then came the real fun.  Designing the applique for the top of the basket.  Using the original quilt again as a starting point, I drafted the top of the first basket and came up with this:

Basket Quilt - Block 1

I’m really happy with it, and can hardly wait to get stitching on it!  I designed the applique in Adobe Illustrator, since I’m more comfortable with those tools.  But again, it made it so easy to do.

The whole block is only 7 inches, so there isn’t a whole lot of room.  And the quilt itself will have 81 blocks – but half of those are setting blocks, so I only need to come up with around 41 basket blocks.  I’m relishing the challenge of recreating the quilt and updating the applique to something a little more modern.  I think half the fun lies in the designing and preparation that comes before the actual stitching.  But the stitching is pretty awesome, and I love that!

3 thoughts on “Album Basket Quilt

    • Thanks for letting me know. I was able to look up the quilt and it’s lovely! I think, though, that I will keep drafting these blocks for myself, as I’m having such a good time with it. They’re like sweet little morsels of applique and I just love doing it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

