Sycamore Rose – Block 1

Block 1Sycamore Rose - Block 1

As promised, here is the pattern for  Sycamore Rose – Block 1.  

All patterns finish at 14″.  So I cut the background squares at 16″ and will trim it down to 14-1/2″ after the applique is done.

For this block, you will need approximate scraps as follows if you’re making it in the Pink/Brown colorway.

  • Medium Pink:   (one) 6-1/2″ square of Medium Pink #1 for Rose bottom and (three) 2 x 3-1/2″ rectangles of Medium Pink #2 for tulip centers
  • Dark Pink:    (one) 4-1/2″ square for Rose top
  • Light Pink:  (one) 5-1/2″ square of Light Pink #1 for Rose middle and (three) 3-1\2″x3-1/2″ squares of Light Pink #2 for tulip bases
  • Gold:  (two) 2-1/2″ squares for Rose center and Stem base.

I hope you give it a try and let me see what you do with it!

Happy New Year to you and may it bring many blessings to  your doorstep wherever you may be!

God bless,

Christy

29 thoughts on “Sycamore Rose – Block 1

    • Hi Lorraine,
      If you look closely, the words “Sycamore Rose – Block 1″ should be underlined. Just click it and it will take you to the PDF file with the templates. If you have any more problems email me privately and I’ll send you the file. cburdy at outlook dot com

      Like

  1. Hi Cburdy, I’d love to join up with what looks like a beautiful quilt, but I cannot seem to download the templates. I did look for the underlined Block I, but no can do. No underlining to be seen. Denise from Sydney Australia

    Like

  2. The block is lovely. Do you let us know when block 2 is available or do we just go to the site and hopefully remember to look in Feb New to this so not sure how this works.

    Like

    • If you choose to follow the site, you will receive an email letting you know when a new post is published. As a general rule, new blocks will be posted on the first of each month.

      Like

      • I’m sorry for the trouble! It should open up when you click on the bold pink “Sycamore Rose – Block 1″ in the body of the text, then you can save it to your computer. I’ve sent you an email with more information.

        Like

    • Hi Frances,

      The patterns are posted on the first of each month. If you follow this link http://cburdy.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/sycamore-rose-block-1/ you can print January’s pattern. Just click on the bold pink “Sycamore Rose – Block 1″ and it should open a PDF file with the pattern and templates. The second pattern will be posted February 1st.

      Thank you for your kind words,

      Christy > Date: Fri, 17 Jan 2014 20:45:03 +0000 > To: cburdy@outlook.com >

      Like

      • Thank you Christy I don’t have a website or blog & don’t want to create one. I am kind of stupid on this PC. I just know how to point to things I want to see. I don’t even know how to send an e-mail. My son explained it but it still does not register. Sorry to be a bother. That is why I am leaving the reply here. Thank you very much for understanding. Looking forward to Feb. 1st.
        Frances

        Like

Leave a Reply

